OBTAINING YOUR TEXAS LICENSE TO CARRY
Check eligibility and citizenship requirements: bit.ly/43bdXiW
STEP 1: Take our Basic Pistol 1 class (Parts 1 & 2)
STEP 2: Take our License to Carry lecture class
STEP 3: Take our Basic Pistol 2 class, in which you’ll complete the LTC shooting qualification
STEP 4: DPS Paperwork & documentation
Submit an application online bit.ly/45vv0Or
Submit supporting documents bit.ly/3MUTDwB
Follow fingerprinting instructions bit.ly/424BKzS
Texas DPS fee schedule (PDF): bit.ly/3oyPLYR
Classes You'll Need
BASIC PISTOL 1 - HOW TO SHOOT A HANDGUN $95
BASIC - THE BEST PLACE TO START FOR ALL BUT THE MOST EXPERIENCED SHOOTERS
Duration: 3 hours classroom, 3 hours range time
This is the class for you, if you:
Don’t own a handgun (and even if you do)
Have never shot a handgun
Have shot a few times but it was years ago
Have shot a few times but don’t feel confident
Have never taken a shooting course or worked with a shooting Instructor
If you don't have much experience shooting, this is the class you should take before you try to get your LTC. The Texas LTC course does not teach you how to shoot and is not appropriate for people with little or no shooting experience.
TX License To Carry Lecture Portion (Classroom Only—No Shooting)
This class presents the fundamentals which the Texas Legislature considers necessary for anyone who is going to carry a firearm. You do not need to be applying for an LTC to benefit from this class.
The Texas Legislature and Texas Department of Public Safety require that all License to Carry Applicants complete an official LTC classroom education course delivered by a licensed Texas LTC Instructor. The course may be no less than four (4) hours, no more than six (6) hours, and includes the required categories of education.
Upon successful completion Student will receive (if desired) the LTC-100 Classroom form required for applying for the Texas LTC.
NOTE: There is no shooting in this course; it is lecture only. The LTC shooting qualification is offered separately (see below).
For the shooting qualification, choose ONE of the below options
Option A: Basic Pistol 2 + LTC Qual
Option B: Texas LTC Shooting Qualification - Private Instruction
NOTE: You must schedule this class directly with the Instructor. DO NOT REGISTER before contacting the Instructor.
BASIC - FOR THOSE WHO JUST DON’T HAVE TIME TO TAKE A SHOOTING CLASS
Duration: 3 hrs range time
We strongly encourage you to take our Basic Pistol 1 and Basic Pistol 2 + LTC classes. You get much more instruction time and much more range time for only $20 more.
We understand some people just don’t have the time for that, so we offer a private, one-on-one instruction session that meets the requirements set out by the Texas Department of Public Safety for the Texas LTC Shooting Proficiency Demonstration.
This session consists of 2 hours of personal instruction on the range, after which you will shoot the Texas LTC Qualification Course of Fire.
Our women-only classes are identical to the regular class offering, just limited to female students. If you're more comfortable in that environment, these are the classes for you! Each class listing on this site includes a link to register for the women-only version of the class in BLUE. Click that link to register.
These classes will be taught by SVA Gun Training’s Chief Instructor Claudia McCue.